Thursday, 27 December 2012


The members of the Irish 100km men's team are the Irish Ultra Runners of the Year for 2012.
The team - which comprised John Byrne, Michael Collins, Dan Doherty, Thomas Maguire, John O'Regan and Keith Whyte - finished a fantastic 6th in the World 100km Championships in April 2012.
Furthermore, individual members of the team performed brilliantly in other ultra events throughout the year.
Among these performances, John Byrne finished 5th in the World 50km Trophy Final, an event he qualifed for after winning UltraRunning Ireland's national 50km title in Donadea. In second place on that occasion was Barry Minnock, who went on to run a 2:17 Olympic B standard marathon later in the year.
Keith Whyte represented UltraRunning Ireland as an individual in the Anglo Celtic Plate 100k and made history by becoming the first Irishman to win this Home Countries international .
John O'Regan took the Irish men's 24-Hour title and Dan Doherty won the Welsh Coastal Ultra 100k, the South West Coastal 100 miles (UK), and set a new course record in the Mooathon in Donegal.
Michael Collins finished in the top 5 in the World Masters 100km Championships and Thomas Maguire, the Irish 100k and 24-Hour record holder, has been re-inventeing himself as an ultra runner in Australia.
It should be noted that the Irish team, which was captained and led home by Dan Doherty, also set a new Irish team record of 21:49:48 hrs at the World Championships

No comments:

Post a Comment